How to run a program (.exe) with Wine?

User created HOW-TOs, guides and workarounds.

Moderators: aysabzevar, mandog, alan, bkashaf, xet7, cmost, blix

How to run a program (.exe) with Wine?

Postby varg » Tue Feb 18, 2014 2:19 pm

I want to run an .exe file with Wine but I cant. In Open with other applications when I click on Show other applications there's not Wine in the list.
varg
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:58 pm

Re: How to run a program (.exe) with Wine?

Postby alan » Tue Feb 18, 2014 9:46 pm

Is wine installed?
alan
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Santa Clarita, California

Re: How to run a program (.exe) with Wine?

Postby varg » Tue Feb 18, 2014 10:21 pm

alan wrote:Is wine installed?


Yes. I installed. And I can run my software with this command:
Code: Select all
wine software.exe

But without terminal I cant run it. After double click, will open by Archive Manager!
varg
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:58 pm

Re: How to run a program (.exe) with Wine?

Postby alan » Wed Feb 19, 2014 1:07 am

If you are running Parsix 64 bit, you need to install wine using the following commands:

Code: Select all
dpkg --add-architecture i386
apt-get update
apt-get install wine-bin:i386


Reload GNOME-Shel (Alt+F2 then type r and hit enter)

and all your exe files should run via wine automatically w/o command line.
alan
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Santa Clarita, California

Re: How to run a program (.exe) with Wine?

Postby varg » Wed Feb 19, 2014 10:00 am

I did it. But I have this problem still. :(
varg
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:58 pm

Re: How to run a program (.exe) with Wine?

Postby mandog » Tue Apr 22, 2014 1:16 am

varg wrote:I did it. But I have this problem still. :(

Have you tried clicking on properties click on open with and choosing "wine windows program loader" and then make it default.
Parsix running AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, Gigabyte mother board 8gb ram, Nvidia graphic card 1gb unboard ram, Plextor PX760, EPSON R300, 2x 500gb hds, sata+3x 500gb, 1x2tb Hardrives, 23" AOC monitor 1980X1080 Resolution
mandog
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:08 pm
Location: Peru

Re: How to run a program (.exe) with Wine?

Postby varg » Tue Apr 22, 2014 10:39 am

mandog wrote:
varg wrote:I did it. But I have this problem still. :(

Have you tried clicking on properties click on open with and choosing "wine windows program loader" and then make it default.


There's no this option: wine windows program loader in the list.
varg
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2014 12:58 pm


Return to HOW-TOs - English

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest