add more entries in grub2

Discussions related to Parsix installations, installer program, etc.

Moderators: aysabzevar, mandog, alan, bkashaf, xet7, cmost, blix

add more entries in grub2

Postby oui » Sat Nov 14, 2009 11:35 pm

hi

as I need to add more entries for more systems in grub2, I find very unconfortable the new boot management!

what is to do for it?
oui
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:23 pm

Postby mandog » Sun Nov 15, 2009 10:46 am

Parsix uses grub2 copy/paste these 2 commands in the terminal as root don't paste this# it means use root terminal.it should then find your other os.
#os-prober
#update-grub2
Last edited by mandog on Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:45 am, edited 1 time in total.
Parsix running AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, Gigabyte mother board 8gb ram, Nvidia graphic card 1gb unboard ram, Plextor PX760, EPSON R300, 2x 500gb hds, sata+3x 500gb, 1x2tb Hardrives, 23" AOC monitor 1980X1080 Resolution
mandog
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:08 pm
Location: Peru

Postby gemilang » Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:03 am

its "os-prober" install with synaptic.
Code: Select all
root@parsix:/# os-proos-proberber
bash: os-proos-proberber: command not found

root@parsix:/# os-prober
/dev/sda1:Windows NT/2000/XP (loader):Windows:chain
/dev/sda6:Ubuntu 9.04 (9.04):Ubuntu:linux

root@parsix:/# update-grub2
Generating grub.cfg ...
Found Parsix background: parsix-grub2.tga
Found linux image: /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.29-parsix-9
Found initrd image: /boot/initrd.img-2.6.29-parsix-9
Found Windows NT/2000/XP (loader) on /dev/sda1
Found Ubuntu 9.04 (9.04) on /dev/sda6
done
root@parsix:/#
gemilang
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 1:55 am

Postby mandog » Sat Nov 28, 2009 10:48 am

its "os-prober"
Your right bad copy paste from me.
Parsix running AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, Gigabyte mother board 8gb ram, Nvidia graphic card 1gb unboard ram, Plextor PX760, EPSON R300, 2x 500gb hds, sata+3x 500gb, 1x2tb Hardrives, 23" AOC monitor 1980X1080 Resolution
mandog
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:08 pm
Location: Peru

Postby md » Mon Jan 25, 2010 5:26 pm

I have an emergency parsix installation on new laptop, this topic help me to solve the problem. thank you mandog.
but why menu.lst mising in new grub!?
md
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Nov 28, 2008 6:06 pm

Postby alan » Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:46 am

Yes. there is no menu.lst anymore. Its grub.cfg now. We are using GRUB 2 now :-)
alan
Developer
Developer
 
Posts: 763
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2005 7:13 am
Location: Santa Clarita, California


Return to Installation - English

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron