dvd / cd autoplay?

User created HOW-TOs, guides and workarounds.

Moderators: aysabzevar, mandog, alan, bkashaf, xet7, cmost, blix

dvd / cd autoplay?

Postby st0.0pidn0.0bie » Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:21 am

is it possible to pop a dvd in the drive and have vlc start up?
or put in an cd and have exaile play it?

i've looked everywhere but i can't find the way! please help
st0.0pidn0.0bie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:09 am

RE: dvd / cd autoplay?

Postby st0.0pidn0.0bie » Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:07 am

okay, i finally found this in the configuration editor:
/desktop/gnome/volume_manager/autoplay_dvd_command

vlc %m

but nothing happens when i insert the dvd disk. please help
st0.0pidn0.0bie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:09 am

Postby mandog » Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:04 am

Did you tick the check box dvd autoplay. Parsix should auto play vlc for dvd and sound juicer for cd by default at least it has always for me. are your settings correct in vlc. I don't think exaile does auto-play well it does not for me in fact not many do that's why sound juicer is default for cd.
Parsix running AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, Gigabyte mother board 8gb ram, Nvidia graphic card 1gb unboard ram, Plextor PX760, EPSON R300, 2x 500gb hds, sata+3x 500gb, 1x2tb Hardrives, 23" AOC monitor 1980X1080 Resolution
mandog
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:08 pm
Location: Peru

Postby st0.0pidn0.0bie » Mon Sep 01, 2008 5:53 pm

hi mandog, thanks for replying. yes, the dvd autoplay box is checked. i tried reinstalling vlc, then resetting all it's preferences internally. no go.

this is a fresh install of parsix on a brand new Gateway W340UI laptop.

in reading around the net it seems it could be related to DMA, but i know nothing of this subject.

the drive will not recognize unencrypted burned dvd's (DVD-R) as well as factory pressed dvd's on the parsix partition. however, on the windows vista partition (same computer, dual boot) the dvd's play fine and automatically in PowerDVD.

in vlc if i do "File >> Open Disk" the factory dvd will play just fine.

but the unencrypted burned dvd will not, it just spins around and sounds like a woodpecker or helicopter.. i recorded the sound my dvd drive makes when i insert a burned dvd:
http://www.mediafire.com/?y5xndbjmzyz

any idea what's going on here?
st0.0pidn0.0bie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:09 am

Postby mandog » Mon Sep 01, 2008 6:42 pm

Wow you are right about the sound, I really do not know what to say on this I burn and play dvds by the dozen on Parsix never a problem check you have
Libdvdcss and w32codecs if using 32bt w64codecs if 64bt Parsix, enabled in synaptic and you are burning to the right region. to be honest I play dvds that do not play on windows in linux. what did you burn the dvd with was it in windows and with what program as some programs do not do a very good job with the dvd structure when they burn dvds. it can all be done in linux as well, I burn lots of home made movies for people and never have any problems at all.
Parsix running AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, Gigabyte mother board 8gb ram, Nvidia graphic card 1gb unboard ram, Plextor PX760, EPSON R300, 2x 500gb hds, sata+3x 500gb, 1x2tb Hardrives, 23" AOC monitor 1980X1080 Resolution
mandog
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:08 pm
Location: Peru

Postby st0.0pidn0.0bie » Mon Sep 01, 2008 7:18 pm

i reinstalled libdvdcss and installed w32codecs. still same result.

the dvd's were all burned on another computer 's brand new dvd burner drive with nero under windows xp. i always burn at 4x speed using high quality sony dvd-r media.

never had a problem with the discs in any player, even my ancient dvd player connected to the television. burn region is (i would assume) either 1 or no region at all since nero to my knowledge doesn't have any region settings.

the drive in this laptop is Compact Disc ReWritable / DVD ROM. and like i said, the disks play just fine under the vista partition. could it be a new anti-linux firmware issue (:-))?

if i can figure this problem out, i will wipe the vista partition to free up some space, but this is the only thing holding me back.

:( :( :(
st0.0pidn0.0bie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:09 am

Postby st0.0pidn0.0bie » Mon Sep 01, 2008 8:20 pm

for the recod, here is the output of fstab, and dmesg after trying to play a dvd. not sure if this info will be helpful..

Code: Select all
# /etc/fstab: static file system information.
#
# <file system> <mount point>   <type>  <options>       <dump>  <pass>
devpts          /dev/pts        devpts  defaults        0       0
tmpfs           /dev/shm        tmpfs   defaults        0       0
/dev/sda3       /               ext3    defaults,errors=remount-ro 0       1
/dev/sda1       /media/sda1     ntfs-3g auto,force,users,exec,umask=000 0       0
/dev/sda2       /media/sda2     ntfs-3g auto,force,users,exec,umask=000 0       0
/dev/sda4       none            swap    sw              0       0
/dev/cdrom      /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto     0       0


Code: Select all
st00pidn00bie@parsix:~$ dmesg
Linux version 2.6.24-parsix-23 (root@memphis-mobile) (gcc version 4.2.3 (Debian 4.2.3-5)) #1 SMP PREEMPT Fri Jun 13 06:59:06 GMT 2008
.....EDITED FOR LENGTH.....
Clocksource tsc unstable (delta = 3519470172 ns)
hda-intel: Invalid position buffer, using LPIB read method instead.
UDF-fs: Partition marked readonly; forcing readonly mount
UDF-fs INFO UDF 0.9.8.1 (2004/29/09) Mounting volume 'BLOOD_DIAMOND', timestamp 2007/02/20 14:24 (1e5c)


the last few lines here seem to be the dvd trying to load up
Last edited by st0.0pidn0.0bie on Tue Sep 02, 2008 3:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
st0.0pidn0.0bie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:09 am

Postby mandog » Mon Sep 01, 2008 9:56 pm

Check if libdvdread is installed
Then post the specs of your laptop the more info the better then some one will guide you through what to try. I know there is a problem with intel chips and it was rumoured that 1 laptop manufacturer had altered the Bios making it favour vista. Do data discs load ok. Try copying film using parsix and see if that works. brasero does a strait copy and see if that is successful, don't burn to slow that is a false fallacy I burn Verbatim at times 16x checked in Nero 98% quality, burn at 4x 85-90% quality, modern top brands are designed to be burned at high speed not slow.
Parsix running AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, Gigabyte mother board 8gb ram, Nvidia graphic card 1gb unboard ram, Plextor PX760, EPSON R300, 2x 500gb hds, sata+3x 500gb, 1x2tb Hardrives, 23" AOC monitor 1980X1080 Resolution
mandog
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:08 pm
Location: Peru

Postby st0.0pidn0.0bie » Tue Sep 02, 2008 2:59 am

libdvdread is installed. here are the specs for the laptop, generated by hardinfo:
http://www.mediafire.com/?hm4mmwmwux5

data cd's will load fine, but data dvd's make that same awful sound :-(

the (factory) dvd will rip fine with parsix, but i can not burn a dvd with this (CD/RW, DVD-ROM) drive. only cd's.
i will try what you suggested and burn a test dvd from the other computer at higher speed.
st0.0pidn0.0bie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:09 am

Postby st0.0pidn0.0bie » Tue Sep 02, 2008 4:03 am

strange..i just tried the same disk (burned at 16x) and it worked. this popped up:
http://img367.imageshack.us/img367/8883/screenshotbladerunnerva0.png

i don't understand why it says no applications found.
just tried the disk again, and it's not working now :-(

---------------------EDIT---------------------

okay, the discs seem to be mysteriously working now!?!
the disks are being read now, but vlc still won't open automatically upon disk insertion.

i've tried every setting i could find, but it's not even being recognized as a dvd application in the file management media preferences:

http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/2315 ... menvq0.png
st0.0pidn0.0bie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:09 am

Postby mandog » Tue Sep 02, 2008 7:47 am

st0.0pidn0.0bie

http://img300.imageshack.us/img300/2315 ... menvq0.png Don't worry on this one mine says the same, but VLC always auto-plays as does sound juicer is part of the gnome desktop so its the default player if installed. Totem is the gnome desktop player again if installed and needs gstreamer codecs installed does a reasonable job but not a patch on VLC,
"gxine" is good but does not autoplay.. "gnome mplayer" works better than mplayer but does not like menus in dvd to much nor does "mplayer" also they all need to have the video set to at least x11 to work properly.
Parsix running AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, Gigabyte mother board 8gb ram, Nvidia graphic card 1gb unboard ram, Plextor PX760, EPSON R300, 2x 500gb hds, sata+3x 500gb, 1x2tb Hardrives, 23" AOC monitor 1980X1080 Resolution
mandog
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:08 pm
Location: Peru

Postby st0.0pidn0.0bie » Tue Sep 02, 2008 8:50 am

okay, if i insert the disk and use the terminal to start vlc it works perfectly.

not "vlc %m"
Code: Select all
st00pidn00bie@parsix:~$ vlc %m
VLC media player 0.8.6h Janus
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 4.1.2 from http://dvd.sf.net
libdvdnav: vm: failed to open/read the DVD
ioctl(): Input/output error
[00000302] vcdx access error: error reading Info sector (150)
[00000290] main input error: no suitable access module for `%m'
[00000281] main playlist: nothing to play


but "vlc dvd:///dev/cdrom" from the terminal:
Code: Select all
st00pidn00bie@parsix:~$ vlc dvd:///dev/cdrom
VLC media player 0.8.6h Janus
libdvdnav: Using dvdnav version 4.1.2 from http://dvd.sf.net
libdvdnav: DVD Title: BLADE_RUNNER
libdvdnav: DVD Serial Number: 3654***edited_out
libdvdnav: DVD Title (Alternative):
libdvdnav: Unable to find map file '/home/st00pidn00bie/.dvdnav/BLADE_RUNNER.map'
libdvdnav: DVD disk reports itself with Region mask 0x00000000. Regions: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
libdvdnav: Language 'en' not found, using '��' instead
libdvdnav: Menu Languages available: ��
libdvdnav: Language 'en' not found, using '��' instead
libdvdnav: Menu Languages available: ��
libdvdnav: Language 'en' not found, using '��' instead
libdvdnav: Menu Languages available: ��


this works...
i alsotried adding the vlc dvd:///dev/cdrom line to autoplay_dvd_command, but still no autoplay.

i will give totem a try. mplayer did not autoplay either.
st0.0pidn0.0bie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:09 am

Postby mandog » Tue Sep 02, 2008 9:28 am

I must apologise VLC no longer auto-plays I added disc mounter to the top panel. now I insert dvd when the icon appears I left click on it then press "play DVD" up pops VLC and starts playing. VLC have some nice skins on their site the instructions are are bit flaky but with persistence most do work Mp11 works very well its a bit sparse but its all there if you click the right places sorry for leading you the wrong way its a week or so since I last used vlc. as I play a lot of Vidios in iso format straight from the hd and vlc does not support them gxine, totem, and Gnome-mplayer do.
Parsix running AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, Gigabyte mother board 8gb ram, Nvidia graphic card 1gb unboard ram, Plextor PX760, EPSON R300, 2x 500gb hds, sata+3x 500gb, 1x2tb Hardrives, 23" AOC monitor 1980X1080 Resolution
mandog
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:08 pm
Location: Peru

Postby st0.0pidn0.0bie » Tue Sep 02, 2008 10:10 am

no worries, thanks for helping me this much mandog! people like you make the internet awesome! i learned a lot from you already. see.. i'm trying to set this computer up for family so we can stop using windows all together, you understand.

it's good to make us new users happy with simplicity, and if a dvd plays automatically in windows, i don't see why it shouldn't do the same in the beautiful parsix. the mounter is a step in the right direction..but will only add confusion. if i could program the codes, it would be fixed already :-(

now, i'm wondering where i should file this bug...with vlc, gnome, parsix...??
st0.0pidn0.0bie
 
Posts: 58
Joined: Thu Jun 26, 2008 12:09 am

Postby mandog » Wed Sep 03, 2008 10:20 am

Just tried Totem Xine and it auto plays by default on my system if you try it make sure you use the xine version works much better than the gstreamer version
Parsix running AMD FX(tm)-6100 Six-Core Processor, Gigabyte mother board 8gb ram, Nvidia graphic card 1gb unboard ram, Plextor PX760, EPSON R300, 2x 500gb hds, sata+3x 500gb, 1x2tb Hardrives, 23" AOC monitor 1980X1080 Resolution
mandog
Forum Moderator
Forum Moderator
 
Posts: 483
Joined: Fri Jan 25, 2008 3:08 pm
Location: Peru

Next

Return to HOW-TOs - English

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest